RoMa Duos 10-12

op. 21, 2004

For saxophone and trombone
Duration: 7 min.

9 instrumental duos from the 16th and 17th century, newly arranged

Commissioned by the Deutsche Guggenheim for the exhibition “Robert Mapplethorpe and the Classical Tradition”
World premiere: 7 and 10 October 2004, Deutsche Guggenheim, Berlin. Saxophone: Alexander Darashkevich, trombone: Daniel Ploeger

Composer’s notes

RoMa Duos were created on the occasion of an exhibition featuring works by Robert Mapplethorpe. The idea was to arrange the musical actions and performances in a way that the musicians appear to be inspired by the exhibition and eventually pick up their instruments to perform in front of the artworks.

The chosen pieces are duos by different composers from the baroque era. Here, they sound “contemporary” since they are performed by two modern instruments, the saxophone and the trombone. The instrumental duos from the 16th and 17th century by Johann Sebastian Bach, Michael Haydn, Georg Philipp Telemann, Orlando die Lasso, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and Claudio Monteverdi were newly arranged for saxophone and trombone.

The audience had the opportunity to look at the artworks more intensively and to enjoy the music in a more relaxed way. The goal was to facilitate the experience of how music and visual arts can complement each other.

Alexander Darashkevich performs in the Robert Mapplethorpe exhibition, 2004, photo: Norbert Banik

Score

Order

RoMa Duos 10-12

op. 21, 2004

Für Saxofon und Posaune
Dauer: 7 min.

3 Instrumental-Duos aus dem 16. und 17. Jahrhundert, neu bearbeitet

Kompositionsauftrag der Deutschen Guggenheim für die Ausstellung „Robert Mapplethorpe and the Classical Tradition“
Uraufführung: 7. und 10. Oktober 2004, Deutsche Guggenheim, Berlin. Saxophon: Alexander Darashkevich, Posaune: Daniel Ploeger

Werknotiz

Die RoMa Duos sind anlässlich einer Ausstellung von Robert Mapplethorpe entstanden. Meine Idee dabei war es, die musikalischen Aktionen bzw. Aufführungen so zu gestalten, dass die Musiker während des Ausstellungsbesuchs so inspiriert von den Bildern des Künstlers zu sein scheinen, dass sie ihr Instrument auspacken und vor den Bildern spielen.

Die Stücke die ich ausgewählt hatte, waren Duos verschiedener Komponisten aus der Barockzeit, die „modern-zeitgenössisch“ erklingen, da sie von zwei modernen Instrumenten interpretiert werden: von Saxophon und Posaune. Die Instrumental-Duos aus dem 16. und 17. Jahrhundert, von Johann Sebastian Bach, Michael Haydn, Georg Philipp Telemann, Orlando die Lasso, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart und Claudio Monteverdi, wurden für Saxophon und Posaune umgeschrieben.

Das Publikum hatte die Gelegenheit, die Bilder intensiver als sonst zu betrachten und die Musik entspannter als sonst aufzunehmen. Das Ziel war, eine Erfahrung zu ermöglichen, wie Musik und Bildende Kunst sich gegenseitig vertiefen und ergänzen können.

Alexander Darashkevich spielt in der Robert Mapplethorpe Ausstellung, 2004, Foto: Norbert Banik

Partitur

Zur Bestellung
2018-08-23T17:28:56+00:00