Six letters for Callas: Α Π Ο ΛΛ Ω Ν

op. 51a, 2015

Α    intense
Π    fragile
Ο    surprisingly
ΛΛ singing in motion
Ω    elegiac
Ν    singing with devotion

Version for smaller orchestra
Instrumentation: –, 2-3 percussions, timpani, harp, piano (ad libitum), strings
Duration: 14 min.

World premiere: 16 April 2015, Konzertrotunde im Königlichen Kurgarten Bad Reichenhall. Bad Reichenhaller Philharmonie, conductor: Albert Seidl


Composer’s notes

The composition Six letters for Callas: Α Π Ο ΛΛ Ω Ν is dedicated to the memory of Maria Callas. The piece consists of six miniatures, which are performed in one flow without any breaks between them. They are based on the six engravings by the German artist Alexander Polzin, which depict the head of Maria Callas without a mouth in front of the “Portara” of Naxos in six different colour variations.

The performance of the composition is based more on the intensity of the interpretation and less on the demonstration of the musicians’ virtuosity. This piece is a version for smaller orchestra from the original piece (op. 51).

Previous slide
Next slide

© Alexander Polzin