in seven pictures

op. 57, 2014/2015

For two sopranos and chamber orchestra
Instrumentation: 2 sopranos and –, harp, piano, percussion, strings
Duration: 15 min.

Text: Antigone by Sophokles
Commissioned by the Bavarian State Opera
World premiere: 8 February 2015, Allerheiligenhofkirche, Munich, as part of the concert series „Blicke-Küsse-Bisse“ of the Bavarian State Orchestra in collaboriation with the Max Planck Society. Chamber orchestra of the Bavarian State Orchestra, sopranos: Anna Stylianaki, Andromahi Raptis, conductor: Konstantia Gourzi


Composer’s notes

The piece Eros is based on and inspired by Sophokles’ “Antigone”. The composition is created in such a way that it can become part of a longer composition dealing with the topic of Antigone.

Central elements of the seven scenes are sound rituals and archaic acoustic colours. The structure of the music follows the content and dramaturgy of the text. It is important that the conductor develops a feeling for the rubato, the flexibility within a phrase, and nevertheless keeps the rhythm strictly. All scenes follow a great arc of interpretation under continuous tension and thus form the piece together.

Coloratura soprano and deep low soprano would be the ideal cast for the two singers. Otherwise, Eros could be performed by a soprano and a mezzosoprano.