Kastalia

op. 35c, 2009

I. Sinking
II. Arrival
III. Breath in
IV. The Sayings
V. Breath out
VI. Farewell

Extended version for string quartet and harp or saz or guitar
Duration: 18 min.

World premiere: 4 September 2009, Rotterdam, Netherlands. Harp: Lavinia Meijer, Ruysdael Kwartet

Composer’s notes

Kastalia is the Nymph of the Delphi source and daughter of the God of rivers Acheloos. The oracle priest Pythia went every time from the temple of Apollon to this source to get the inspiration for her prophecies. Kastalia is my source for this composition for harp and string quartet.

The first movement features a rhythmic ostinato by the strings, while the solo instrument plays a quasi-archaic melody. It is followed by a dialogue between strings and solo instrument. The third movement is a synthesis of the first and second movement in the form of a concentrated miniature.

The original version of Kastalia was commissioned by Harry Otten for harp and string quartet. Later I extended the piece with two additional movements for solo harp between the existing tutti parts. Also, I worked on this version for saz and string quartet together with saz player Michalis Cholevas and eventually recorded it for NEOS. It was a fascinating task to mix the sounds of the traditional saz and the string quartet and prove that the well tempered and the traditionally tempered can coexist if no separation between them is sensed. In the past, Kastalia has also been played with lyre and guitar as solo instruments.

Audio sample

Score

Order

CD

Konstantia Gourzi
Conjunctions – Synápsies

NEOS 11035, 2010

Apollon Musagète Quartett, Vassilis Agrokostas, Michalis Cholevas, Christian Elsässer, Konstantia Gourzi

Order

Kastalia

op. 35c, 2009

I. Versenkung
II. Ankunft
III. Einatmen
IV. Die Sprüche
V. Ausatmen
VI. Abschied

Erweiterte Fassung für Streichquartett und Harfe oder Saz oder Gitarre
Dauer: 18 min.

Uraufführung: 4. September 2009, Rotterdam, Niederlande. Harfe: Lavinia Meijer, Ruysdael Kwartet

Werknotiz

Kastalia ist die Quellnymphe der delphischen Quelle, Tochter des Flussgottes Acheloos. Die Orakelpriesterin Pythia ist vom Apollontempel zu dieser Quelle gegangen, um Inspiration für die Weissagungen zu bekommen. Kastalia ist meine Quelle für diese Komposition.

Der erste Satz besteht aus einem rhythmischen Ostinato der Streicher, in dem das Solo-Instrument eine quasi-archaische Melodie spielt. Es folgt ein Dialog zwischen Streichern und Solo-Instrument. Der dritte Satz ist eine Synthese des ersten und zweiten Satzes in konzentrierter Miniaturform.

Die ursprüngliche Version des Stücks war ein Kompositionsauftrag von Harry Otten für Harfe und Streichquartett. Das Stück habe ich dann mit zwei Sätzen für Solo-Harfe zwischen den bereits bestehenden Tutti-Sätzen erweitert. Außerdem habe ich Kastalia für Saz und Streichquartett für den Saz-Spieler Michalis Cholevas erarbeitet und für die NEOS-CD aufgenommen. Das traditionelle Instrument klanglich mit dem Streichquartett zu mischen war eine reizvolle Aufgabe und hat noch einmal gezeigt, dass das Wohltemperierte mit dem „traditionell“ Temperierten koexistieren kann. Das Stück wurde seither auch schon mit Lyra oder Gitarre als Solo-Instrumenten gespielt.

Hörbeispiel

Partitur

Zur Bestellung

CD

Konstantia Gourzi
Conjunctions – Synápsies

NEOS 11035, 2010

Mit Apollon Musagète Quartett, Vassilis Agrokostas, Michalis Cholevas, Christian Elsässer, Konstantia Gourzi

Zur Bestellung
2018-08-23T16:52:15+00:00