op. 69, 2016

I. Crucifixion
II. Transformation
III. Salvation

For soprano, clarinet/bass clarinet, tenor saxophone, cello, double bass, percussion
Duration: 30 min.

Inspired by the cross artworks of Jannis Kounellis
Commissioned by the Archbishopric of Munich-Freising
World premiere: 10 February 2016, Dom zu Unserer Lieben Frau (Frauenkirche), Munich. Members of the ensemble opus21musikplus: soprano: Stanislava Stoycheva, clarinet: Slava Cernavca, saxophone: Mathieu Bordenave, cello: Anja Lechner, double bass: Dine Doneff, percussion: Mathias Lachenmayr


Composer’s notes

Stationen was inspired by the steel crosses of artist Jannis Kounellis, which were set up inside the Munich Cathedral on the occasion of “Artists’ Ash Wednesday”. Thinking of the Crucifixion, the Transformation and eventually the Salvation had an impact on the musical process. I was trying to transfer these three stations musically.

The intense rhythms and sounds at the beginning of the piece interpret the Crucifixion by awakening fear and pain. The crosses function as an artwork of their own, but also as a stage and as a percussion instrument. During the second station the musicians walk to the crosses and continue playing in front of them, like a prayer through music. This part is musically preparing the transformation from crucifixion to salvation. The third station rejoins all musicians in front of the altar where they – in contrast to the beginning – perform a dance-like, ecstatic tutti music, leading towards salvation.

Previous slide
Next slide

Ensemble opus21musikplus, Foto: Norbert Banik


Audio Sample