P-ILION, nine fragments of an eternity

String quartet no. 2

op. 33/2, 2007

I. breath in, 7.19 pm
II. breath out, 8.12 pm
III. tettix, 10.15 pm
IV. jasmine, 10.22 pm
V. secret, 10.55 pm
VI. once upon a time, 11.17 pm
VII. wind, 11.47 pm
VIII. dance, 12.00 pm
IX. night flower, 1.11 am

For string quartet
Duration: 12 min.

Commissioned by Kasseler Musiktage 2007
World premiere: 10 November 2007, Kasseler Musiktage. Athena Quartett

Publisher: Musikproduktion Höflich München, Repertoire & Opera Explorer, Gourzi Edition

Composer’s notes

Often an intense event does not last long: like the time it takes to breath in or to breath out. Nevertheless, sometimes it feels like an eternity. Some of these nine miniatures are very short and still feel very long. I observed that today the flow of time is very fast, so that there is a risk to not listen to our heartbeat.

PILION is a region in Greece. Its nature is very pure and intensive. I was there when I started composing the piece. The Greek capital letter “P” is the Π (Pi), that was interpreted in the ancient Greek language as a symbol for gate or door. ILION comes from the Greek word ILIOS = sun = light. Thus, with the title of the piece I intend a meaning of “gate to the light” – which is at the same time how I experienced PILION.

The miniatures describe moments that lead to the light. They are meant to create an intensity of expression that force me to experience the time with a higher intensity and be able to feel the echo differently. The numbers next to the titles are times. The time stands still when the event is so intense that it changes the perception of time.

Press reviews

“Gourzis Stücke tragen oft außermusikalische Titel. Sie verweisen auf Begegnungen, Gefühle, Atmosphären und Stimmungen, die zu musikalischen Ideen geworden und in ihre Kompositionen eingeflossen sind. (…) Der Ton ihrer Erzählungen mag gelegentlich entfernt an Debussy, Schumann oder Skrjabin erinnern oder mit expressiven Gesten und atonalem Furor direkt an die Moderne anknüpfen; Gourzis Musik berührt stets unmittelbar, nicht zuletzt dank der inspirierten Darbietungen von Lorenda Ramou (Klavier) und dem Ensemble Coriolis.”

Klassik Akzente, 8 October 2014




Konstantia Gourzi: Music for Piano and String Quartet

ECM Records, ECM New Series 2309, 2014

Lorenda Ramou and Ensemble Coriolis