music flows across the sea

op. 60, 2015

For violin, cello, vibraphone and piano
Duration: 3 min.

Commissioned by Theatro La Fenice, Venice, as part of the festival “Lo Spirito della Musica di Venezia”
World premiere: 9 July 2015, Theatro La Fenice, Venice, Italy. Ex Novo Ensemble


Composer’s notes

In music flows across the sea, the theme is introduced and then repeated by all four instruments in different musical and technical forms. These individual variations are like small waves breaking at the coast, while larger waves continue to move across the Mediterranean. The sea, the rhythm and the melody represent our connection, our power, our identity and our community in a chamber music form.

© Norbert Banik