Project Description

attacca berlin

Between 1991 and 1995, Konstantia Gourzi led the ensemble attacca berlin, which was particularly successful with the international concert series ‘Zeitzonen’, “time zones”.

The Project

The ensemble attacca berlin was founded in 1991 by Konstantia Gourzi, during her studies. It consisted of members of the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestral Academy, freelance musicians, and graduates of the Berlin Hochschule der Künste. In the founding of her first ensemble, it was not only musical quality that was important to Gourzi, but also the connection between musical personalities. The latter influenced the sound and made a particular energy audible in the performances. Konstantia Gourzi remains convinced by this phenomenon today.

Early important performances included for example the Minsk Contemporary Music Festival, or in the Kammermusiksaal of the Berlin Philharmonie (1992), during which twelve world premieres from composers from both halves of Berlin were played. Over the course of one evening, half the works were performed by the Scharoun Ensemble, the other half by the ensemble attacca berlin.

From the beginning, it was important to Konstantia Gourzi to conceive concert series with particular performance concepts. This is how the international “Time zones” series was born, which musically examines all sorts of interweaving elements. The concerts aim to make connections sensuously palpable, which normally remain unspoken. These may be (musico—) historical, geographic, sociocultural or aesthetic / material questions. A two-year scholarship from the DAAD facilitated extended travel and research after composers and works, who and which also considered similar issues in many different contexts. “Time zones” presented the results – in the Gropius-Bau Berlin, the Otto-Braun-Saal, the Kammermusiksaal of the Berlin Konzerthaus, and as part of the Berlin Festwochen.

ensemble attacca berlin 2018-04-16T11:39:57+00:00

Project Description

attacca berlin

Von 1991 bis 1995 leitete Konstantia Gourzi das Ensemble attacca berlin, das vor allem mit der internationalen Konzertreihe „Zeitzonen“ sehr erfolgreich war.

Das Projekt

Das Ensemble attacca berlin wurde 1991 während ihres Studiums von Konstantia Gourzi gegründet und setzte sich aus Stipendiaten der Orchesterakademie des Berliner Philharmonischen Orchesters, aus freien Musikern sowie Absolventen der Hochschule der Künste Berlin zusammen. Bei ihrer ersten Ensemble-Gründung spielte nicht nur die musikalische Qualität eine Rolle, sondern vor allem die Zusammensetzung der Musiker-Persönlichkeiten. Dieser Aspekt sollte den Klang formen und eine andere Energie der Interpretation hörbar machen. Dieser Überzeugung folgt sie bis heute.

Erste wichtige Auftritte waren beispielsweise beim Minsker Festival für zeitgenössische Musik oder 1992 im Kammermusiksaal der Berliner Philharmonie, bei dem  zwölf Uraufführungen von Ost- und West-Berliner Komponisten gespielt wurden. Es war das erste gemeinsame Konzert dieser Art nach der Wende. An einem Abend wurde die Hälfte der Werke vom Scharoun Ensemble und die andere Hälfte vom Ensemble attacca berlin aufgeführt.

Konstantia Gourzi war es von Anfang an ein wichtiges Anliegen, Konzertreihen mit bestimmten Aufführungsideen zu konzipieren. So entstand die internationale Reihe „Zeitzonen“, die sich  musikalisch mit verschiedensten Verflechtungen beschäftigte: Die Konzerte sollten Verbindungen sinnlich erfahrbar machen, die in der Regel im Verborgenen bleiben, zum Beispiel (musik)geschichtliche, geografische, soziokulturelle oder ästhetisch-materielle Fragestellungen. Ein zweijähriges DAAD-Nachwuchs-Stipendium ermöglichte ausgedehnte Reisen auf den Spuren von Komponisten und Werken, die sich in unterschiedlichsten Kontexten mit ähnlichen Fragestellungen befassten. Die Ergebnisse waren in der Konzertreihe „Zeitzonen“ zu hören – im Gropius-Bau Berlin, im Otto-Braun-Saal, im Kammermusiksaal des Konzerthauses Berlin oder im Rahmen der Berliner Festwochen.