Project Description

Antigone

Three young composers set verses from Sophocles’s Antigone to music, and these received their world premieres in the Bavarian State Opera. Konstantia Gourzi initiated a project with these, which connected Greek antiquity to the present.

The Project

Gourzi’s idea was not only to connect Greek antiquity with the present, but also different languages, cultures and generations, all through music. Awakening consciousness of tradition by means of a contemporary project was an important aim, because this belongs to the core tenets of life in general. Children and young people were able to experience these connections close at hand, because they were part of the action.

Three young composers from the Munich Hochschule – Maria Bosareva, Philipp C. Mayer and Katharina S. Müller – had won an internal competition for the role, and set pieces for the children’s choir and a small ensemble from the Bavarian State Opera.

The textual basis for the three world premieres are verses from Sophocles’s Antigone on the themes of human achievement (‘Three Fragments’), the power of God (‘Stasimon’), and wisdom (‘Schiefes Schicksal’, “crooked fate”). The set language is Ancient Greek, as in the original text, but was added to with texts in German and the mother tongues of the composers.

By searching, selecting and fusing together, the young composers created a new whole for the children, who represent our future.

Performances

World premiere: 25 July 2015, Cuvilliés-Theater, Munich
Ensemble of the Orchestra of the Bavarian State Opera, Children’s choir of the Bavarian State Opera, conductor: Stellario Fagone

Education – Antigone2018-04-16T12:44:25+00:00

Project Description

Antigone

Drei junge Komponisten vertonten Antigone-Verse von Sophokles, die dann in der Bayerischen Staatsoper uraufgeführt wurden. Konstantia Gourzi initiierte damit ein Projekt, in dem die griechische Antike mit der Gegenwart verknüpft wird.

Das Projekt

Die griechische Antike mit der Gegenwart sowie verschiedene Sprachen, Kulturen und Generationen durch Musik miteinander zu verbinden, ist die Idee für dieses Projekt gewesen. Das Bewusstsein für Tradition durch ein zeitgenössisches Projekt zu erwecken war dabei ein wichtiges Anliegen, da es zu den zentralen Werten des Lebens gehört. Kinder und Jugendliche als Teil des Geschehens konnten diesen Zusammenhang hautnah erleben.

Die drei jungen Komponisten aus der Münchener Musikhochschule Maria Bosareva, Philipp C. Mayer und Katharina S. Müller hatten sich in einem internen Wettbewerb durchgesetzt und Stücke für den Kinderchor und ein kleines Ensemble der Bayerischen Staatsoper vertont.

Die textliche Grundlage für die drei Uraufführungen sind Verse aus der Antigone von Sophokles zu den Themen: Leistungen der Menschen (Drei Fragmente), Kraft Gottes (Stasimon) und Weisheit (Schiefes Schicksal). Diese Themen können in jedem Alter und in verschiedenen Lebensabschnitten wichtig werden. Die vertonte Sprache ist wie im Originaltext Altgriechisch, wurde aber um Abschnitte auf Deutsch und in der Herkunftssprache der Komponisten ergänzt.

Durch Suchen, Auswählen und Verschmelzen haben die jungen Komponisten ein neues Ganzes für die Kinder als Zukunftsträger erschaffen.

Aufführungen

Uraufführung: 25. Juli 2015, Cuvilliés-Theater, München
Ensemble des Orchesters der Bayerischen Staatsoper, Kinderchor der Bayerischen Staatsoper, Leitung: Stellario Fagone