Hommage à Mozart

three dialogues

op. 56b, 2016

Version for violin and piano
Duration: 20 min.

World premiere: 14 February 2017, Bilbao, Spain. Piano: Berta Fresco, violin: Luis Ibiricu (soloists of the Ensemble Kuraia)

Publisher: Musikproduktion Höflich München, Repertoire & Opera Explorer, Gourzi Edition

Composer’s notes

Composing an homage in honour of a person is like looking for an answer to several questions, especially the importance of this person for me and what it provokes in me. I find it very appealing to be inspired by people or topics from the past and combine this inspiration with my own musical associations in order to find a new sound. This process seems to me like a wind that merges the times. It is a musical challenge to build an emotional bridge between the past and the present in a tonal way.

I sense Mozart and his music as an energy that leads me. The question if the composition reflects any of Mozart’s work remains unanswered, since no theme, melody or certain rhythm was deliberately included for musical citation. It is like playing hide-and-seek in the forest, a feeling, a certain aura – the piece reflects what Mozart provoked musically in me at this point in time.

three dialogues arises from three atmospheres that are audible as dialogues between the instruments. Although there is no dramatic development between or within the movements, they do form in their progression and as a whole a connected conversation that the audience can follow.

The original version of Hommage à Mozart (op. 56) was composed in 2014 for viola and piano, commissioned by Nils Mönkemeyer and William Youn.

Score

Order

Hommage à Mozart

three dialogues

op. 56b, 2016

Version für Violine und Klavier
Dauer: 20 min.

Uraufführung: 14. Februar 2017, Bilbao, Spanien. Klavier: Berta Fresco, Violine: Luis Ibiricu (Solisten des Ensemble Kuraia)

Verlag: Musikproduktion Höflich München, Repertoire & Opera Explorer, Gourzi Edition

Werknotiz

Eine Hommage auf einen Menschen zu komponieren ist für mich die Suche nach einer Antwort auf mehrere Fragen, vor allem, was derjenige für mich bedeutet und in mir erweckt. Ich empfinde es als reizvoll, von Menschen oder Themen aus der Vergangenheit inspiriert zu werden und diese Inspiration musikalisch mit eigenen Assoziationen zum Klingen zu bringen. Dieser Prozess erscheint mir als zeitloser Wind, der die Zeiten verschmilzt. Es ist eine musikalische Herausforderung, eine emotionale Brücke zwischen der Vergangenheit und dem Jetzt klanglich zu bauen.

Ich empfinde Mozart und seine Musik als Energie und lasse mich von ihr führen. Ob etwas in der Komposition von ihm widergespiegelt wird, bleibt offen, da weder ein Thema noch eine Melodie oder ein bestimmter Rhythmus bewusst aufgenommen wurde, um ihn klanglich zu zitieren. Es ist wie ein Versteckspiel im Wald, ein Gefühl, eine bestimmte Aura – was Mozart in mir derzeit klanglich auslöst.

three dialogues entspringen drei Stimmungen, die als Dialog zwischen den Instrumenten hörbar werden. Obwohl es keine dramatische Entwicklung zwischen und in den Sätzen gibt, formen sie doch in ihrer Abfolge und Gesamtheit ein zusammengehöriges Gespräch, dem der Hörer folgen kann.

Die ursprüngliche Version von Hommage à Mozart (op. 56) entstand 2014 für Viola und Klavier als Auftragskomposition von Nils Mönkemeyer und William Youn.

Partitur

Zur Bestellung
2018-08-22T11:53:13+00:00