“Evening at the Window”

op. 75, 2017/18

I. a rooster in the sky
II. the yellow moon
III. smoke from the chimney
IV. the yellow Moon
V. in your arms
VI. the yellow MOON

For viola solo
Duration: 10 min.

Commissioned by the ARD Music Competition 2018, funded by the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation
World premiere: 14 September 2018, Prinzregententheater, Munich. Viola: Aoi Murase, Yusheng Chi, En-Chi Cheng, Takehiro Konoe, Diyang Mei, Hwayoon Lee.

Publisher: Musikproduktion Höflich München, Repertoire & Opera Explorer, Gourzi Edition

Composer’s notes

Marc Chagall’s painting “Evening at the Window” has accompanied me for many years. I admire it not only for its colour combinations, but also for the placement and presentation of the objects and the subtle meaning of his subjets. The composition reflects the closer inspection of the parts of the painting and combines them into a connective mode. Thus, the six pieces can be understood as miniatures of a greater picture, connected by breaks that keep the intensity.

While the pieces I. a rooster in the sky, III. smoke from the chimney and V. in your arms present different musical points of views, they are connected by the pieces II. the yellow moon, IV. the yellow Moon and VI. the yellow MOON, which appear like a refrain, each with a different timbre. The recurring commas define the musical and dramaturgical bow and should not be interpreted as a longer break. Throughout the piece, the pizzicati in the left hand should be treated as though they were played by the right hand, thus with full sound.

Piece I. a rooster in the sky is formed by a strong connection between melody and rhythm. The bells part has its own dramaturgic line and should be interpreted having equal rights like the viola. The aim is to create a complex rhythmic acoustic colour. The pieces II. the yellow moon, IV. the yellow Moon and VI. the yellow MOON should be performed with three different interpretations. The quasi-refrain will be recognisable three times in different acoustic colours, but still being transformed. Piece III. smoke from the chimney begins and ends like a lullaby. While the exciting middle part with its three rhythmic instructions should be clearly articulated, it creates a contrast to the beginning and end. The time changes within piece V. in your arms serve the flow of the whole piece, regardless of the hesitant phrases. It is important to avoid the conventional accentuation on the first beats.

Semi-final of the ARD Music Competition 2018; Hwayoon Lee, Yusheng Chi, Konstantia Gourzi, Diyang Mei, En-Chi Cheng, Takehiro Konoe, Aoi Murase

Audio sample

Score

Order

„Evening at the Window“

op. 75, 2017/18

I. ein Hahn im Himmel
II. der gelbe mond
III. Rauch aus dem Kamin
IV. der gelbe Mond
V. in deinen Armen
VI. der gelbe MOND

Für Viola solo
Dauer: 8 min.

Kompositionsauftrag des Internationalen Musikwettbewerbs der ARD 2018, finanziert durch die Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung
Uraufführung: 14. September 2018, Prinzregententheater, München

Verlag: Musikproduktion Höflich München, Repertoire & Opera Explorer, Gourzi Edition

Werknotiz

Das Bild “Abend am Fenster” von Marc Chagall begleitet mich seit langer Zeit. Ich bewundere es nicht nur wegen der Farbkombinationen, sondern auch wegen der Platzierung und Darstellung der Objekte im Raum und der hintergründigen Bedeutung seiner Sujets. Die Komposition spiegelt die Betrachtung der einzelnen Bildteile wider und fasst sie zusammen in einem verbindenden Modus. Deshalb kann man die sechs Stücke als Miniaturen eines größeren Bildes verstehen, die mit Spannungspausen verbunden werden.

Die Stücke I. ein Hahn im Himmel, III. Rauch aus dem Kamin und V. in deinen Armen zeigen verschiedene musikalische Blickwinkel. Sie werden verbunden durch die Stücke II. der gelbe mond, IV. der gelbe Mond und VI. der gelbe MOND, die wie eine Art Refrain mit jeweils anderer Klangfarbe trotz ähnlichen Notenbilds erscheinen. Die immer wieder vorkommenden Kommata in der Partitur definieren den musikalisch-dramaturgischen Bogen und sollen nicht als längere Pause interpretiert werden. Die im gesamten Stück immer wieder gespielten Pizzicati in der linken Hand sollen klanglich behandelt werden, als ob sie von der rechten Hand gespielt wären, also mit vollem Klang.

Das Stück I. ein Hahn im Himmel ist geprägt von einer starken Verbindung zwischen Melodie und Rhythmus. Die Bells-Partie hat eine eigene dramaturgische Linie und soll deshalb gleichberechtigt interpretiert werden wie die Viola. Das Ziel ist es, eine vielseitige rhythmische Klangfarbe zu erzeugen. Die Stücke II. der gelbe mond, IV. der gelbe Mond und VI. der gelbe MOND sollen in drei interpretatorischen Stufen dargestellt werden, so dass dieser quasi-Refrain dreimal durch die jeweils unterschiedliche Klangfarbe erkennbar, aber doch verwandelt ist. Das Stück III. Rauch aus dem Kamin hat am Anfang und am Ende den Charakter eines Wiegenliedes. Der bewegte Zwischenteil mit den drei verschiedenen rhythmischen Anweisungen soll deutlich artikuliert werden und auf diese Weise einen Kontrast herstellen. Die Taktwechsel des Stücks V. in deinen Armen dienen trotz zögernder Phrasen dem Fluss des gesamten Stückes. Die konventionelle Betonung auf den ersten Schlag soll in diesem Stück vermieden werden.

Evening at the Window, Marc Chagall, 1950

2018-05-15T20:07:53+00:00