Call of the Bees

op. 77, 2019

I. attention
II. a prayer for protection
III. transition
IV. unification

Duo for cello and piano.
Duration: ca. 14 min.

Co-commissioned by BBC Radio 3,
the Cheltenham Music Festival and the Royal Philharmonic Society
World premiere: 7 July 2019, Cheltenham Music Festival, England. Cello: Anastasia Kobekina, piano: Lilit Grigoryan
Radio recording

Publisher: Musikproduktion Höflich München, Repertoire & Opera Explorer, Gourzi Edition

Composer’s notes

Bees, and their importance in the cycle of life, inspired this composition. The work therefore also connects bees and humans: what they would tell us, through music, about the present state of nature. Call of the Bees marks the beginning of a series of reflective compositions dedicated to the natural world. These appeal for a more attentive approach to nature, which has shown us the path of life since time immemorial.

Call of the Bees has four movements, which are like four messages played one after the other. Cello and piano form a dialogue/discussion on their theme: all sound figures, rhythms, tempos and timbres express the intensity of these thoughts.

The sounds in the first movement draw our attention to the bees, and how important they are to us. The second movement is a prayer: the bees pray to be protected. At the end of this movement there is a transformation in sound: we hear them, we take them seriously, we perceive them and we are ready to change the situation. The third movement expands on this mood, and prepares the transition to the fourth movement. This unites the instruments in a shared soundscape: elegiac and free, with a conscious relationship between nature and humankind.

 

Anastasia Kobekina and Lilit Grigoryan; photo: Norbert Banik

Audio Sample

Score

Order

Call of the Bees

op. 77, 2019

I. attention
II. a prayer for protection
III. transition
IV. unification

Duo für Cello und Klavier.
Dauer: ca. 14 min.

Kompositionsauftrag von BBC Radio 3, Cheltenham Music Festival und Royal Philharmonic Society
Uraufführung: 7. Juli 2019, Cheltenham Music Festival, England. Cello: Anastasia Kobekina, Piano: Lilit Grigoryan
Radio Aufnahme

Verlag: Musikproduktion Höflich München, Repertoire & Opera Explorer, Gourzi Edition

Werknotiz

Diese Komposition ist von den Bienen und ihrer Bedeutung für den Kreislauf des Lebens inspiriert. Es ist daher auch eine Assoziation zwischen Bienen und Menschen: was sie uns mit Musik über den heutigen Zustand der Natur sagen würden. Mit dieser musikalischen Reflexion bildet Call of the Bees den Auftakt einer Kompositionsreihe, die der Natur gewidmet ist. Die Reihe ist zugleich Reflexion und Appell für einen achtsamen Umgang mit der Natur, die uns den Weg des gemeinsamen Lebens seit ewigen Zeiten zeigt.

Call of the Bees besteht aus vier Sätzen – wie vier Messages, die nacheinander gespielt werden. Cello und Klavier führen einen Dialog oder eine Auseinandersetzung über das Thema Natur. Alle Klang-Figuren, Rhythmen, Tempi und Klangfarben folgen der Intensität dieser Gedanken.

Die Klänge im ersten Satz rufen nach unserer Aufmerksamkeit, auf die Bienen zu achten und darüber nachzudenken, wie wichtig sie für uns sind. Der zweite Satz ist ein Gebet: die Bienen beten, dass wir sie schützen. Am Ende dieses Satzes findet klanglich eine Transformation statt: wir hören sie, wir nehmen sie ernst und wahr und sind bereit, die Situation zu verändern. Der dritte Satz stellt dies klanglich dar und bereitet damit den Übergang zum vierten Satz. Dieser vereint die Instrumente in einer gemeinsamen Klangwelt: elegisch und frei, mit der Wahrnehmung einer bewussten Beziehung zwischen Natur und Menschen.

Anastasia Kobekina und Lilit Grigoryan; Foto: Norbert Banik

Partitur